North Cyprus history

Northern Cyprus history is rich and diverse, and it is closely connected with the history of Cyprus Island. History of Cyprus Island covers more than ten thousand years when the first settlers of the island were immigrants from the Mediterranean.

The main reason for the relocation was the development of navigation in the Bronze Age in 2500 (BC). Various opportunities for development and the availability of minerals attracted more and more people to the island.

In 545 (BC) Cyprus belonged to the Persians, after liberation from Egyptian domination, until they were defeated by Alexander the Great.

The island passed from hand to hand until 294 (BC) when the power passed to Ptolemy 1 Soter. Further, the history of Cyprus is characterized as a peaceful and safe time, this period lasted 250 years.

It was the part of the Roman Empire until 395 (BC) when after the fall of the empire, it belonged to Byzantine Empire.

Isaac Comnenus ruled Cyprus from 1184 to 1191. Then during the Third Crusade, it was conquered by the King of England Richard the Lionheart. Cyprus for a long time passed to the European ruler. In 1448, Northern Cyprus is in the hands of the Venetians. From 1571 to 1878, Cyprus was ruled by the Ottomans. Then it was leased.

Nothern Cyprus after 1960

Nothern Cyprus history as a modern history begins after the island gained independence in 1960. After the Turkey's intervention in 1974 in the military coup, Cyprus was divided into the North, under the control of the Turkish Cypriots, the South, under the control of the Greek Cypriots.

In 1983 the Turkish Federated State declared independence. The new state became known as the Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus.

History of Famagusta

Famagusta is an important city in the Northern Cyprus history. In the history of Famagusta Northern Cyprus, there were many periods of development. It was founded in 285 (BC). The founder of the city was the Egyptian King Ptolemy. By 1300 the city was a major trade port and a city in the eastern Mediterranean. It was the centre of Christian religious orders.

In 1571, the island fell under the rule of the Ottoman Empire. Under the rule of the Ottoman Empire, the city was used as a home of exile for Ottoman political prisoners. It was not allowed to Christians to live in the city, so instead, they founded a nearby town, Varosha. Famagusta suffered greatly from the events of 1974. After 1974, Famagusta was on the north side of the Green line (UN buffer zone).

Currently, the new city of Famagusta is located south of the old fortified city. Nowadays, the economy of Northern Cyprus has a high development. Free-market approaches are widely used in the region.

Due to it, one of the most important sectors of development is Northern Cyprus real estate, which has good experience in the market. Northern Cyprus has a good climate for the development of this direction.

Major cities of North Cyprus

  1. Nicosia;
  2. Kyrenia;
  3. Famagusta;
  4. Morphou;
  5. Lefke.

History facts

The important North Cyprus history facts which must know everyone interested in Northern Cyprus:

  1. North Cyprus is officially the Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus;
  2. An area of the island is 3,355 square km;
  3. Nicosia is the capital city of the North and South;
  4. Famagusta was the richest city during the reign of the Venetians and Franks;
  5. Green Line separates North Cyprus from the South.

receive a call from a member of our team